Thursday, January 29, 2009

Friendly Face Interview

Julie Ann Voeller Thorn

I have known Julie for only about 1 1/2 years. She is one of my co-workers...but, also one of the most genuine and honest people I know. She truly cares about people and always makes them feel so special. And...she does have the very best purse/shoe collection I have ever seen....SERIOUSLY!

Born: August 7, 1982 in Great Falls, MT

Currently Resides: Gilbert, AZ...(about 1 mi. from me)

Married: to Stefan Thorn. We've been together for 9 1/2 years and married for 2 1/2 years.

Kids: No human kids...just 2 crazy dogs (Brooklyn & Bentley) and 3 cats (Zoe, Oliver, & Tucker)

Work: as a Corporate Trainer for Progressive Insurance

Dream Job: Designing shoes and owning my own shoe boutique

Favorite Vacation Spot: Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

Future Favorite Vacation Spots: Manhattan and South Africa...when I finally vacation there.

Favorite Food: I have LOTS of favorite food...I love Mexican (just not La Fonda), any kind of seafood (crab, salmon, escargot, and scallops are my favorite), sushi, PIZZA (with just pineapple and cheese), and I absolutely LOVE cherries...oh, and sweet potato pie...and collard greens. I hate to cook, but I absolutely love eating food!!

Favorite Holiday: Christmas...there's something about the holidays that just makes me smile!

Favorite TV: I don't watch much TV, but I love watching football, college basketball, Run's House (I think I'm the only one that likes this show), Grey's Anatomy, and my little addiction called The Hills.


Favorite Book: I have a few...A Piece of Cake by Cupcake Brown, Monster by Sanyika Shakur, Mitch Albom's books, Wasted by Marya Hornbacher, How Starbucks Saved My Life by Michael Gates Gill, A Million Little Pieces & My Friend Leonard by James Frey, and I am a closet Twilight reader...ok so now it's out!!

If You Were to Put Your iPod on “shuffle” What Would You Hear?: Lots of old school rap and hip/hop, and a mix of pretty much everything….. Jazz, a little country, some alternative, rap, hip/hop…. My favorites: Jay-Z, The Show Soundtrack, Musiq, Talib Kweli, Amos Lee, Nas, Kanye, Dixie Chicks, Ray Charles, Anthony Hamilton, Tim McGraw, Obadiah Parker, Joss Stone, Pearl Jam, John Legend, Barry White, Dave Matthews Band, Jack Johnson, Common…. I LOVE music!!

Describe the “perfect” day:
Waking up without an alarm
Bikram Yoga
Breakfast with my husband – Eggs Benedict
Shoe shopping
The spa for a massage, facial, mani, & pedi
Lay by the pool and read a good book
Dinner at the Keg… crab and a filet mignon with a bottle of pinot grigio
Friends over to watch football, have some drinks, and enjoy the rest of the day…

Hobbies: I am addicted to Bikram Yoga - I'm doing a 30-day challenge right now so I feel like that is my only hobby at the moment. I'm also getting my Master's degree, so school is also a hobby right now. I also love the spa, the Seahawks, shopping, traveling, football games, music, laying out in the sun, the Washington Huskies, and hanging out with friends, family, and my dogs.

Pet Peeves: Ignorance, people chewing food with their mouth full/smacking their food, people that walk/drive slow, when I'm walking with someone or with a group of people and I'm not in the lead (it's weird, but it drives me crazy, I have no clue why), when people don't clean up after themselves, and parents that can't/don't discipline their kids.

Favorite Childhood Memory: Playing dress up...I LOVED dressing myself and never wanted anyone else to dress the same as me, I loved spending time at my grandparent's house in Montana, and picking cherries at the orchard at their house on the lake...Family reunions were always a lot of fun and made me realize the importance of family early on.

Most Memorable Childhood Memory: I think this one has scared me for life…. But when I was in kindergarten my mom dressed me up as a clown for Halloween. I wasn’t just any clown though, I was a fat clown. She had me wearing one of my dad’s work shirts with a pillow underneath the shirt, suspenders, funny-looking pants, my dad’s shoes, painted face, rainbow curly wig, foam red nose…. I was a pretty good fat clown. So she dropped me off at school (remember, this is Kindergarten and Halloween is just a couple months into the school year), I walked into the class, and guess who else was dressed up? No one. Apparently my mom didn’t get the memo that you weren’t supposed to dress up your kid for Halloween at school. The best part was that neither my mom nor dad had a cell phone back then, so I wore the costume all day.

My Hero: My dad...My life was really put into perspective a few months ago when my dad had 6-bypass surgery after a silent heart attack he didn’t realize he had. Thankfully I was able to be back in Washington with my family during the time, but it was really difficult seeing my dad in so much pain after the surgery. I really look up to his strength and determination while he endured such a difficult recovery. His entire lifestyle has changed as a result; he walks 5 miles every day and eats healthier than I do now! He’s really stubborn (I got my stubbornness from him) but I can’t respect him enough for everything he’s gone through, and still facing each day with a positive attitude and the same sense of humor he’s had forever.
I Love My Husband because: He's a good cook, he's smart and he always has me questioning my views on particular issues, he makes me laugh, he shows pride in his accomplishments and supports me in my goals, he understands me, he takes pride in everything he has and everything he's done, he can finish my sentences, he's got good fashion sense, and he doesn't mind me spending a lot for a pair of shoes or a fancy handbag.
Marriage Advice: Respect each other, enjoy every moment, take time to appreciate each other, and don't take anything for granted.

Favorite Thing about Yourself: I like to consider myself an optimist, but also a realist. I try to see the positive side of every situation, but also completely recognize reality.

World's Biggest Problem: Wow...where do I start? Wars in Iraq/Afghanistan, failing economy, global warming, ethics/integrity, lack of racial tolerance and discrimination...

Biggest Challenge: Walking both of my dogs.....in heels.

In 10 Years, I See Myself: Happy, successful, and accomplished.

Describe Yourself in One Word: Determined.

Read about Julie here on her new blog!!

2 comments:

Spec4J said...

I love this interview. Not only did I learn a lot about Julie but I think I'm going to have to CASE this idea for my own blog.

The Cuties' Mommy said...

No problem!! I hope you do steal it! :)